dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Gifts Shmifts

leave a comment »

Another December weekend has come and gone, which means that it’s only two short weeks until Christmas. I have yet to start my Christmas gift shopping/making, and frankly, unless I’m suddenly overcome with a jolt of energy, I’m not sure I see it happening at all this year.

There’s nothing like giving the perfect gift. It really is a joy. But in the past few years, I’ve found myself struggling with the Christmas gift-giving process. It feels two parts wasteful and one part disingenuous.

Isn’t one really special, thoughtful present better than twenty random gifts you’ll end up stuffing in a drawer? Of course, it’s nearly impossible to think of personal gifts for everyone each and every year. However, if the alternative is the generic gift card or DVD, I’d rather just not give anything at all.  That sounds far Scrooge-ier than I intended it, but I hope you know what I mean.

Still, I’ll have to think of something. I can’t be the ass who shows up everywhere empty-handed. Hmmm . . .  Back to the Martha website.

*If you are in the Christmas shopping mood, consider this knitted snowman hat for the little ones in your life. I think it could possibly be one of the single most adorable things a baby could wear!

via

Written by ditheringmiss

December 14, 2009 at 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

