dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

How Commercials Ruined Christmas

with 2 comments

I just flipped the calendar from November to December.

I’ve been walking around the apartment spouting off “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas” in a British accent and living primarily on hot apple cider and cookies.  ‘Tis the season. And I do love the season.

When I was younger I always wished that when I had in-laws they would live in a big, beautiful white house with blue window panes, and when we visited for Christmas it would be snowing and there would be a fire and lots of merry cheerfulness. I can still see it so clearly.

Sound like a Hallmark commercial? It probably was. This is what the media does to us! I used to cry during the “Beef – It’s what for dinner” commercials. Remember those?

My sister Sydnie, who’s now 14-years-old, spent ages 10 through 12 wishing that our family was like the one in the Daisy Sour Cream commercials: “Do a dollop, do, do a dollop of Daisy!” Cue family dancing around beautifully laid dinner table, shoving fingerfulls of sour cream  in mouths.

(I’m guessing that’s probably not going on in every American home. As far as I know, I’m the only person who scoops sour cream directly from the tub to lick off of my finger. And I’m certainly not doing it in front of my mom. )

It’s funny the way we long for things that aren’t real, but its also sad. It tore Syd up that we weren’t anything like the fictitious Daisy family.

“Why can’t you be the kind of mom who makes dinner?” She cried.

My mom aptly replied, “That means you’d have to be the kind of kid who sets the table and clears the dishes without asking.”  And that was that.

We think we want these things, but the idea of them is far grander than the experience itself.  Does my dream of a perfect house blanketed in snow with a hot cup of cocoa (I only call it “cocoa” in my dreams) waiting atop the hearth of the roaring fire no longer affect me? It still sounds so romantic, but now I know that the reality would certainly fall short. I’d just be disappointed, left with nothing but instant Swiss Miss made with water, not milk.

These images we’re force fed, particularly around the holidays, do nothing but serve to raise unrealistic expectations. After a year of unemployment and a lifetime of unrealistic expectations, I think I’ve had it. I am sick of people telling me what my Christmas is supposed to look like. So this year I’m handcrafting and if it turns out ugly, all the merrier. At least it’ll be authentic. Ho hum.

I’m starting with the cards. I want to do something simple and maybe just a little kitsch. I’m not talking Santa in bermuda shorts, but more like Grandma-got-runover-by-a-Reindeer-esque. Some inspiration below:

via

(Aw, shucks.)

via

(Love the use of old books!)

via

(I know this isn’t holiday related, but I like how simple it is.)

I’m in need of brilliant semi-decent ideas (always) so do not hesitate to pass them along!

Written by ditheringmiss

December 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

Posted in 25 Days of Blogging

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That first one is totally adorable and totally doable! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    sketchbooknumbernine

    December 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm

  2. […] rainy day I decided to stay in and get a start on making a set of holiday cards. I took a cue from Lauren and opted for something […]


Leave a Reply

