dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Dental Floss and Me: A Love Story

with one comment

I’ve been lying to my dentist for years.

Dentist: Have you been flossing?

Me: Oh sure, of course. I mean, a few times a week at least.

What I mean is, nope, I haven’t flossed in the past month. I have floss. I stare at it after I brush my teeth, but I never pick it up and put it to use. Every time you’ve ever asked me this I’ve lied, for no other reason then I don’t like your judgmental looks and your motherly lecture. I should floss, I know!!!  That’s not the problem. The problem is the doing. So just leave me alone. Hmmph.

I’m sure dentists all over the world are lied to in this exact same way every single day. And they know. Of course, they know. They’ve got a front row seat to  our inflamed gum lines. I’m convinced that when you lie, they scrape more violently. It’s like a secret dentist punishment.

So I haven’t been the most devoted flosser, it’s true. But recently all this changed.

I thought, no more excuses, it’s time to floss.

I’ve flossed every day since then. It’s been two glorious weeks.

I was wrong about dental floss. It’s not so bad. In fact, it’s actually a wonderful thing.  It makes you feel good about yourself. (Like going to the gym, only better, because it takes less than two minutes.)

I love you, dental floss. Thanks for my nightly ego boost.

Written by ditheringmiss

September 8, 2009 at 12:20 pm

Posted in Me

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i feel like i wrote this! i’ve lied to my dentist. i’ve lied to my mother (she’s a floss nazi), and I’m pretty sure I would have lied on my blog (touche). I too am trying to be better! I do enjoy flossing. It feels nice. I’m just too darn lazy most of the time.

    taren

    September 8, 2009 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

