dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Thank You for the Lovely Pink Slip. Really, Thanks.

leave a comment »

Last night my friend said, “Can I tell you something?’ in that way that actually means, “I need to tell you something about you that may offend you.'” This particular friend is more like a sister—we’ve been friends for ages, we know the others’ family almost too well, and we’ve been through the ups and downs I equate with sisterhood—so I knew that whatever she said would probably be fairly accurate. Yikes.

She said, “I think getting laid off was one of the best thingsĀ  to ever happen to you.”

“How’s that?” I offered an awkward grin and an eyebrow raise. I was thinking about my health insurance that ends on August 31st and my dwindling bank account, of course.

“You’re just so much happier and more positive, too. You’re, like, an optimist.” We both laughed.

While I don’t think I’ve reached the place where I can agree that getting laid off was a good thing, in a way, she’s right. Optimist? I think not. I have, and always will be, a realist. But nothing gives you perspective faster than having the rug pulled out from underneath you. Naturally, this shift in perspective has led me to adopt a different outlook.

No doubt I feel fairly lost sometimes, but I also feel more grounded. And I really hope a year from now I can look back and say that this period marked a great change in my life. Then again, I think a year ago I was hoping to say that now.

Hmmm . . .

Written by ditheringmiss

August 27, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Posted in Changes, Me

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

