dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

No One’s Girl

with one comment

Not a girl’s girl and not a guy’s girl. What’s girl to do?

Disclaimer: I absolutely love my core group of girls. They are all wonderful in different ways, and I’m not sure who I would be without them. This post is in no way meant to devalue their significance in my life.

495605058_29f95740b4

Some people are desperate to get a boyfriend; I’m desperate to make girl friends. The ones I have are all awesome, but I don’t have many.  This potential lady pal deficit has led me to become that girl; the one who’s always convinced that this time she’ll meet the right one. You think she’s making friendly conversation, when really she’s sizing up your potential.

Obviously a person doesn’t become desperate without a lack of opportunity; I just don’t encounter many new women. So last night when Mike’s friend came over with his new girlfriend, I thought, “Aha, this could be it.” And I took a shower and I put on a sweater so I’d look smart and didn’t put on make up so I didn’t look like I was trying too hard.

And then all my hopes came crashing down. She was nice, sure. But, that spark wasn’t there. There was no connection. She was small and from the upper echelon’s of the East Coast and flung her leg over her boyfriend’s when they were sitting on the couch, the last being an absolute dealbreaker. I do not stand for excessive public displays of affection, specifically on first introductions. Nope. Not okay.

It wasn’t meant to be. Yet again.

Is it me? It is, isn’t? That’s what you’re thinking: I’m too picky; I make snap judgments soley on first impressions; I don’t give them a chance. But, but, I can’t help it. I do try. I ask a lot of questions and smile a lot, and you know what, I end up driving the whole conversation. It’s damn annoying is what it is. *sigh*

Do you guys have this problem, too? Or do I just totally suck? HOW DO I FIX THIS?

via

Written by ditheringmiss

August 25, 2009 at 9:41 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely understand what you mean. I’ve been living in the same area for six years, and have only met a few (I can count them on one hand with room) good friends. I also get excited when a new potential girl friend enters my life, and get dissapointed when we have nothing in common, or she excessively says “babe” to my brother in-law, so annoying! I guess we must just cherish the friends we have, and know that when a new friend comes along, it will happen on its own, so as not to try too hard. I just met a new friend when I changed units at work, she and I are ridiculously alike, its weird really, and have really hit it off. So keep trying!

    Ash

    August 26, 2009 at 7:52 am


Leave a Reply

