dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Inspiration 101

with 3 comments

Sometimes I claim that I’m in need of creative motivation, but I actually do have moments of inspiration fairly often.

Only they come at the most inopportune times, namely right as I’m drifting off to sleep.  When I’m too damn groggy to pick up pen and paper.

I’ll remember it tomorrow, I like to believe.

I repeat, “Remember this. Remember this.”

But I don’t.

I remember that I had the moment, that flicker of brilliant thought, but I just can’t quite place my finger on what the thought actually was.

* * *

So that’s what I’m doing this morning. Trying to remember . . . Oh, and I’m off to help my sister, the closest in age to me of all my siblings by a wee eight years, move into her dorm room. Wild, I know.

One day you and your sister are two and ten and playing in a tent in the living room, and the next day you’re taking her to college and reminiscing about your own freshman year. I’d swear it was like a couple years ago, not eight. Cause that would make me, like, really freaking old.

Written by ditheringmiss

August 18, 2009 at 10:00 am

Posted in Changes, Family, Life, Writing

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate when that happens! But it doesn’t happen to me a lot. . . Though a lot of my motivation comes at times when I’m not able to do it. Such as, in the middle of a bookstore. And when I’m inspired, I’m like “I need to do this NOW!!” Otherwise, it goes away and evolves into something else. Hehe, us artists are just so strange, aren’t we? 😛
    Nice blog,

    xox, mavi

    Maverick

    August 18, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  2. im am so strangely fascinated by this when it happens! ill have these crazy creative dreams and then wake up and its like ok, my mind is capable of that. capable of these awesome things… totally inaccesable to me.
    when im awake i cant even spell inaccessible

    alissa

    August 19, 2009 at 5:59 pm

  3. Inspiration is a funny thing. Imagine what we’d be capable of if we could actually harness it when we needed to!

    ditheringmiss

    August 19, 2009 at 6:07 pm


Leave a Reply

