dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

K-Dawg

with 2 comments

I’ve never had my own dog. I begged my parents my entire childhood, literally, and they never gave in. Then, when I was fifteen, my mom rescued a dog and gave her to my seven year old brother. Her name was Kitty. She quickly became mine, or at least more mine than anyone else’s.

Imagine a dog with the triangle face and sweet brown eyes of a black Lab, but with the short legs and long body of a Basset Hound. That was Kitty. She was an awkward looking mutt, but her eyes, they were dearly expressive. Many people claim that their dog is the best.

I won’t make such claims.

Kitty wasn’t the most well-behaved, the best trained, the smartest, the most active, or the cutest, and she was painfully stubborn. But . . .

she had the heart of Saint. Truly.

2520170239_b5f4b82d8b

As my mom said, “our family lost a great soul.” And we did.

At fifteen years old Kitty had to be put asleep on Friday afternoon. I would like to say that it was peaceful. I would like to believe that she was happy in those final moments. But the truth is she suffered. Her last few days were dark. She was very sick, and unbeknownst to my family, she was also in an extreme amount of pain.

I am relieved that her trial is over, but knowing that she’s gone brings me no comfort.

I miss her so.

It seems strange and even silly that we can get so attached to pets. But they really do become family, don’t they?

via Jonathan Gill

Written by ditheringmiss

August 16, 2009 at 12:30 pm

Posted in Changes, Family, Thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Miss Kitty. She was loved dearly. I am always so thankful for the companionship and love pets share with us.

    sketchbooknumbernine

    August 17, 2009 at 4:05 pm

  2. […] But it lingered. So I knew things would get worse. And they did. For me, and the dog. […]

    Summer Cold « dith.er

    August 17, 2009 at 6:19 pm


Leave a Reply

