dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Some Days I Sit and Wish I Was a Kid Again

with 3 comments

It’s a hot day here in the city. Naturally, I’ve spent the morning being all whiny about it ’cause I”m a grass is always greener sort of girl—when it’s cold I want it hot, when it’s hot I can only think of cold.

Things on my mind: watermelon, smoothies, frozen bananas, and the classic Snoopy SnoCone Machine from my childhood.

41ioSXu8wiL._SL500_AA280_

This wee, tacky machine lived it’s life on the top of the shelves in my grandma’s kitchen my entire childhood. I’m pretty sure that every summer between 1987 and 1992 not a day went by when I didn’t beg my grandma or my parents to pull down the Snoopy SnoCone Machine and fulfill my icy dreams.

But, as was the case with my Easybake Oven, the answer was usually ‘no, it’s too much work.”

{Then why the hell did you buy me these awesome toys?!?! Just to taunt me??}

Even though I only ever ate maybe one actual sno cone from the Snoopy SnoCone Machine, it’s as dear to me as Super Soakers, Slip ‘n Slides, and all the other Summer joys of childhood. I think it’s still sitting up there, collecting dust since ’95.

At least, I hope so.

Written by ditheringmiss

August 10, 2009 at 11:18 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had one of these!!! It was the most amazing, least used toy I ever had. PS you’re lucky you even had an Easy Bake oven. My parents continually said “NO!” on the grounds that I was “too accident prone”. Oh the joys of childhood…

    Abbey

    August 10, 2009 at 2:31 pm

  2. Ah, yesteryear. I loved that machine as a kid! I think our parents were right, it was a lot of work and a ton of ice cubes. But so worth it. I distinctively remember chewing on the red hat that Snowman is wearing. Haha.

    sketchbooknumbernine

    August 10, 2009 at 3:49 pm

  3. Gosh, I’m SO glad you guys remember that same SnoCone machine. It must have been a popular toy back in the day. Who knew?!

    ditheringmiss

    August 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

