dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

with 4 comments

I’ve spent the past hour trying to find a good quote about rejection (when you don’t work, you can waste the day on inane tasks like this.) As it turns out, there are no good quotes about rejection, because there is nothing positive to say about rejection. It is what it is.

There was a time, just a few years ago, when even the thought of rejection brought on a wave of anxiety.  Then I started having both my personal and professional writing critiqued, and I realized that it’s not so scary once you get used to it.

Now a year of rejection is weighing heavy on my shoulders. That more is surely to come doesn’t scare me, but I don’t like it at all. Mostly, it makes me tired.

Old Rose

Written by ditheringmiss

August 4, 2009 at 11:26 am

Posted in Life, Me, Thoughts, Writing

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I have the same problem but the only way you learn is by getting things wrong (that includes rejection)

    bittersweetie95

    August 4, 2009 at 11:31 am

    • So true, and I try to think of this when the going gets tough. Thanks for he reminder!

      ditheringmiss

      August 4, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  2. A pat of support on the back from me to you. I’m just starting the process and from the little I’ve seen it does look daunting to say the least. But, I applaud you for what you have done as it is a lesson for me of what will most likely be the same path I have to walk too. That may sound terrible–your disappointment–my gain, but I see it as inspiration, not perspiration. Does that make sense? So, since you gave me a little insight (inadvertant as it may be), allow me to pay back a little something concerning a quote about rejection on a positive theme. It’s my own; something I wrote years ago while in college. If you like it–keep it; it’s yours for the taking.

    “Rejection proves the measure of one’s resolve.”

    It’s inspired by Nietzsche: “That which does not kill us makes us stronger.”

    I hope it applies. Thanks for sharing.

    horrorible

    August 4, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    • Thank you for the words of encouragement. I’m actually incredibly glad you glean something positive from my disappointment, so to speak. And I really like your quote. I think I’ll write it on a post-it and stick on my computer.

      ditheringmiss

      August 4, 2009 at 6:04 pm


Leave a Reply

