dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

A-Holes and Bad Dreams

with 2 comments

0000054505_20090123144050

Last night I ended the night by flipping between Real World: Cancun and Toddlers and Tiaras. The entire hour I felt incredibly angry—people are such assholes.

Is it just me or has the Real World completely devolved into a show about boring narcissists? Also, doesn’t it seem like the guys they choose are just plain mean nowadays? There was a time when this show actually had some substance. As for the stage moms, don’t get me started. We definitely need more little girls raised to believe that being beautiful is the be all end all.

Anyways, it got me all worked up before bed, so I just knew I was going to have a troubled night’s sleep.  Sure enough, I had a series of nightmares. The first involved the death of a friend, the second involved a bad fight with Mike, and the third was about a terrifying roller coaster ride. After each one it was such a relief to wake up, but then I’d fall right into the next.

I love my reality TV, but it’s getting harder to stomach. I really don’t want to become one of those people who only watches PBS and classic movies, but if things don’t change soon, well, I may have no other option.

Thank goodness for Mad Med.

via

Written by ditheringmiss

July 23, 2009 at 10:45 am

Posted in Thoughts

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I so agree. Last season of the Real World was a pleasant surprise, the cast seemed to be dealing with significant and relevant issues. There was less fighting and less sex. I haven’t even seen Cancun, and really, I don’t think I could stomach it.

    sketchbooknumbernine

    July 23, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    • I also thought last season brought up some interesting issues, but again, it seemed like the guys were constantly putting down the girls. Even when they were “in the right,” they managed to be real jerks. Here’s the truth: I’m too old to be watching this show!

      ditheringmiss

      July 23, 2009 at 4:12 pm


Leave a Reply

