dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Very Serious Thoughts

leave a comment »

1209989_74541964

In college I spent a lot of time making sure my notebooks were properly delineated by each class, quarter, and year. A tad OCD, but I think the organization made me feel more in control. Grad school, however, is an entirely different story. I buy a very small notebook each year and proceed to fill it at random with whatever I deem fit. It becomes a writing journal of sorts; a keeper of thoughts that I might need later.

Last night I was about to start writing in my current notebook from this past school year, when I decided to flip through the pages to see if I could find anything inspiring. On the first page I found this:

keep searching for what is great . . . that is noble in itself

I’m not sure if this is an actual quote, something my teacher said, or something I pieced together from the class discussion that day, but it struck me last night, as it must have then.

It’s all too easy to qualify any creative endeavor by the final product (success, failure, etc), but the real triumph is in the process. We may not always accomplish what we hope to or achieve our boldest dreams, but it’s the faith that we might that makes it worth doing.

Note: This is all coming from the girl who’s received a load of rejections this year, meaning that my judgment may be skewed towards the reaching of dreams, rather than the achieving of them. Still, if I can pretend that it’s the trying that matters most, then so can you.

So go try something.

via

Written by ditheringmiss

July 22, 2009 at 7:00 am

Posted in Thoughts, Writing

Leave a Reply

