dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Sister, Sister

with one comment

Copy of Hailey's Grad 1

The other night my sister and I had a sleepover. We didn’t do anything special–there was the hillbilly at Safeway who kept asking me if I was her niece Aubrey, but that’s an entirely different story–instead, we just talked.

My sister is an open book, and in the past few years her admission of information has been slightly disconcerting. But last night, it was like talking to a good friend. She was so level-headed and thoughtful. She said things like, “I can’t believe I used to think that was cool” (in reference to hickeys of all things, but still, I believe it’s a good sign), and told me that there was no excuse for unsafe sex. Bless her freaking heart. In fact, after she told me about the drama surrounding her friends, I realized  it’s amazing she turned out as good as she did.

After so many years of feeling like the aunt or the babysitter, it’s so nice to finally feel like I have a sister. A real life, lie awake at night and gossip sister.

Written by ditheringmiss

June 26, 2009 at 6:00 am

Posted in Changes, Family

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] what I’m doing this morning. Trying to remember . . . Oh, and I’m off to help my sister, the closest in age to me of all my siblings by a wee eight years, move into her dorm room. Wild, I […]


Leave a Reply

