dith.er

I don't know which way to go. Any advice?

Thoughts on Fruit

leave a comment »

In my grandma’s yard there is a big beautiful plum tree that has been there from the time my mom was a girl. When I was little,  I ate those plums from the time  they were teeny-tiny tart candies, until the end of June when the orbs became deep purple and fell from the branches with the slightest tap or tug. I must have eaten hundreds of those plums as a kid. But then I grew up and spent far less time at Grandma’s house, and the only plums I ever ate were store bought. Giant plums that were overly juicy and flavorless and sometimes mealy, too. I grew to hate plums.

But something happened the other day. I was at a farmer’s market in my hometown. It was very small, hosted by an independent grocery story: a few tables lined with their local farmer’s goods. They were offering samples, so I sampled. First there was a juicy white peach, then a bit of mango, nectarine, apricots, and finally, a juicy, ruby red slice of plum. It was heaven! It was like the plums I’d shaken from my grandma’s tree two decades ago, warmed by the sun.

Plums

It made me feel about 8 years old, in a good way.

As it turns out I don’t hate plums. I love them, love them! What I hate is the incorporation of agriculture. I need to see Food, Inc. but I’m too scared. I don’t think I need another thing to be worried about. I’d really like to just enjoy my plums with some good old fashioned peace of mind. Too much to ask?

Written by ditheringmiss

June 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

Posted in Food, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

